Front Pagedepiction of human rights activist by artist Vesper Moore. They depict Judi as a middle age light skinned women with curly brown long hair and large glasses

Join us for the last Judi’s Room of 2022!

Wednesday December 7, 2022

3:00 PM Pacific

4:00 PM Mountain

5:00 PM Central

6:00 PM Eastern & Atlantic Standard

6 AM Eastern Australia, 12 PM Hawaii, 7 PM Brazil Standard, 11 PM in Ireland & UK

Preregistration is required. To register click HERE

 

Workshop Description

The late Justin Dart, considered to be the Father of the Americans with Disabilities Act, sought to overcome the many silos within the disability movement. Often, he would bring to our attention the large numbers of people who wore the label of psychosocial disability. At strategy meetings he spoke of the influence we could wield if we could overcome our differences and be more inclusive for all.

Institutions, congregate living centers are the least desirable system of care for individuals and are grossly overused. Ron Bassman and Sarah Smith will speak of their work and experience with institutions and the challenges to dismantling them and finding more humane support that features the benefits of living in communities. We will be presenting the ground-breaking work that the United Nations is doing to abolish restrictive institutions around the world. The UN’s recently published guidelines emphasize the importance of self-determination and living in the community. It is an ambitious long overdue mission. The guidelines utilize and continue the work of the Convention on the Rights of People with Disabilities (CRPD).

 

Bio: Ron Bassman

Diagnosed with schizophrenia in my 20s and hospitalized twice for more than a year, I went on to earn my doctorate and became a licensed psychologist. I believe that by writing and speaking my truth to power, I can challenge the misconceptions of both mental health professionals and the general public – and most importantly inspire fellow travelers. My written works include the books, A Fight to Be: Experiences From Both Sides of the Locked Door and Exploring Identities of Psychiatric Survivor Therapists: Beyond Us and Them. My current work is centered on community inclusion and social justice.

Bio: Sarah Smith

Ten years ago, my daughter experienced a spiritual emergency compounded by childhood trauma and recreational drug use. I struggled for many years to come to terms emotionally with her institutionalization and forced, outpatient, psychiatric treatment which I perceived to be both harmful and ineffective. I received several years of intensive counseling for ‘adjustment disorder’ but the most helpful form of ‘therapy’ turned out to be the fellowship and unconditional support I received from individuals who identify as psychiatric survivors. With their help, I learned to convert my DSM ‘disorder’ into ‘creative maladjustment’, a state of mind described by Dr. Martin Luther King, as a conscious choice to oppose societal injustice. Today, I am going on my 12th year of working for MindFreedom International. Despite occasional encounters with despair and hopelessness, I am increasing my capacity to feel restorative joy and I continue to find meaning and purpose through activism.

 

picture of activist and psychiatric survivor Judi Chamberlin as a young woman

Judi Chamberlin, young activist in the seventies

Judi’s Room is named after the famed disabilities rights activist, Judi Chamberlin and is jointly presented the first Wednesday of every month by MindFreedom International and ‘I Love You Lead On.’ The meeting is free and open to the public. Judi’s Room usually starts with one or more invited presenters followed by a facilitated public discussion. All are welcome and both MFI and ILYLO strive to make Judi’s Room as accessible as possible. If you wish to support Judi’s Room with a monetary donation, consider one of two options below:

 

To make a secure, tax-deductible donation through MindFreedom International click HERE being sure to specify ‘Judi’s Room’ on the picklist of campaigns when filling out the membership/donation form.

To make a donation through ‘I Love You, Lead On’ click HERE