When MindFreedom International began in 1990 in New York City, a number of groups banded together in what we called “Support Coalition.” Even though MFI changed its name, this Support Coalition continues as a project and is crucial to uniting the people power we need to win human rights. 

MFI’s Support Coalition unites a network of Affiliates and Sponsors, as indicated next to the group name. 

An Affiliate in the Support Coalition is like a regional chapter. This local group always uses the name MindFreedom, such as MindFreedom Ireland or MindFreedom Ghana. A Sponsor group is an independent nonprofit or community organization that endorses MFI. 

Sponsors and Affiliates support the mission, goals and guidelines of MFI. Each has a Liaison on the MindFreedom Support Coalition International Advisory Council (IAC), which provides suggestions to the MFI Board about strategy and campaigns.

Thanks much to everyone who has updated this MFI list of current groups. This is only the new start. We want many more Affiliates and Sponsors. For more information, contact David W. Oaks, Aciu! Institute, which is providing consulting: revolution@aciu.info. [Updated Sept. 2020.]

 

MFI Sponsors and Affiliates

(Grouped by nation in alphabetical order.)

 

CANADA

MindFreedom Alberta (Affiliate) Calgary, Alberta alberta@mindfreedom.org Contact Name Private
MindFreedom Nelson British Columbia (Affiliate) Nelson, BC nelsonbc(at)mindfreedom.org Bryhre Cormack (they/them)
MindFreedom Vancouver BC  (Affiliate) Vancouver, BC info@mindfreedomvanbc.com Gölök Zoltán Buday
The Friendly Spike Theater Band (Sponsor) Toronto, Ontario friendlyspike@primus.ca Ruth Ruth

GERMANY

Gruppe Aufbruch (Sponsor) Cologne vp5858@aol.com Vicky Pullen
Yael Elya Institut (Sponsor) Dortmund karin.roth@yael-elya.de  Karin Roth
 

GHANA

MindFreedom Ghana (Affiliate) Accra, Ghana ghana@mindfreedom.org Dan Taylor
 

IRELAND

MindFreedom Ireland (Affiliate) Cork, Ireland ireland@mindfreedom.org Mary Maddock


JAPAN

MindFreedom Japan (Affiliate) Osaka, Japan japan@mindfreedom.org Tsuyoshi Matsuo


NETHERLANDS

Association for Medical and Therapeutic Self-Determination (Sponsor) Amstelveen info@metzelf.nl Mira de Vries

 

TAIWAN

Prestige Transformation, LLC (Sponsor) Taiwan lc1125hope@gmail.com Lillian Chen

 

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law (Sponsor) Washington, D.C. communications@bazelon.org Jennifer Mathis

Disability Rights International (Sponsor)

Washington, D.C. info@driadvocacy.org Rachel Arnold

The Gesundheit! Institute (Sponsor)

Urbana, IL

To contact, find street address on website

Patch Adams

International Network Toward Alternatives and Recovery (INTAR) (Sponsor)

Fort Wayne, IN pestastny@yahoo.com

Peter Stastny

Mental Patients Liberation Alliance (Sponsor)

Albany, NY georgeebert@yahoo.com George Ebert

MindFreedom Colorado (Affiliate)

CO colorado@mindfreedom.org Amy Smith

MindFreedom North Florida (Affiliate)

No. FL nfla@mindfreedom.org Frank Blankenship
MindFreedom New Hampshire (Affiliate) NH nh@mindfreedom.org Wayne Ramsay

MindFreedom Lane County (Affiliate)

Lane County, OR lane@mindfreedom.org Christina Peirsol

MindFreedom MidMichigan (Affiliate)

MI midmichigan@mindfreedom.org Loretta Wilson
MindFreedom Oregon (Affiliate) OR oregon@mindfreedom.org David W. Oaks

MindFreedom Seattle (Affiliate)

Seattle, WA seattle@mindfreedom.org Dave C.

National Association for Rights Protection & Advocacy (Sponsor)

Huntsville, AL narpa@aol.com Ann Marshall

PsychRights  “Law Project for Psychiatric Rights (PsychRights)” (Sponsor)

Anchorage, AK jim.gottstein@psychrights.org James Gottstein

Rethinking Psychiatry (Sponsor)

Portland, OR

RethinkingPsychiatry@gmail.com

Rachel Levy

Trauma Healing Project (Sponsor)

Eugene, OR

info@healingattention.org Elaine Walters