Front Pagewebinars

Join us for our upcoming webinar:

Student Mental Health Rights

Lived Experience, Action and Awareness on College Campuses

Friday, August 19, 2022

2 pm Pacific Daylight Time

3 pm MDT

4 pm CDT

5 pm EDT & AST

11 am Hawaii, 10 pm Ireland/UK/Portugal, 21:00 UTC/GMT

Date & Time in your Time Zone (auto-detected)

This webinar is free and open to the public. To join by Zoom, simply use this link to pre-register for this webinar for free. Zoom will send you an invite link after registering.
In this panel, we will discuss why mental health awareness is pertinent to every student, through sharing an array of diverse student experiences. We will also propose solutions through action that students can take on an institutional level. This webinar was organized by Maria Rose and Madison Eldridge, interns for MindFreedom International and Aciu! Institute.
Panelists include two recent college students with lived experience of mental health, Madison Eldridge and Arnicia Gillyard, MFI co-founder David W. Oaks, and very special guest Martin Rafferty of Youth Era.

Martin Rafferty, a white man with a short beard, wearing a dark jacket while sitting outside next to a tree.Martin Rafferty is a CEO, international speaker, and youth engagement strategist. He has been called a next-generation advocate by Huffington Post author and President of the Children’s Mental Health Network, Scott Comstock. His life story was celebrated by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, which highlighted Rafferty as one of eight global changemakers. Perhaps one of his most successful achievements includes the creation of a peer-to-peer course provided to high schoolers from four different countries as a joint research project with the University of Oxford.

Martin is the founder and CEO of Youth Era, an international and highly celebrated nonprofit that is revolutionizing current thinking about how we view youth engagement. For more than a decade, Youth Era has served hundreds of thousands of young people through their drop-in centers, online peer-to-peer support services, and postvention for crises, including responding to school shootings.

Use this link to pre-register for this webinar.

We are looking to gather questions in advance! We’d especially like to hear from college students who identify as having mental health lived experience. To submit questions, email: interns@mindfreedom.org


Find this event on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram!


Learn more about Youth Era here.

Youth Era creates solutions for communities across the country that look beyond short-term assistance for the few and toward sustainable support for the many. When Youth Era opens up a new drop-in center, saving communities hundreds of thousands of dollars, it’s not just the young people or even their families who benefit. With Youth Era services, young people have a much better chance of becoming happy, successful, and contributing adult members of their communities, and everyone reaps the rewards.

Read a recent piece by interns Maria Rose & Madison Eldrige about mental health and disability access in colleges & universities here. 

Read an article on the need for mental health alternatives for teens & youth by intern Gabe Jenkins here.